Marriage Formation Reimagined

Please read on for more information and to check out the great resources we have to offer as you prepare for a life together.

en español

Online Marriage Formation Now Open

Our new program allows us to accompany couples in their journey towards marriage and offers couples the opportunity to work at their own pace. Evaluations over the last few years have shown that couples appreciate the one day of preparation for its efficiency but are left wanting more because of its fast pace and exclusion of some materials. Scroll down to learn more.

Marriage formation has four components:

Part One - Online Registration and Starting Your Journey 

To get started, click the link below to sign up for online marriage formation. Either the bride or groom can register, pay the fee of $195, and set up an account in LEAD, our learning portal. Then, the couple can sit together (or log in separately) to access their first course, Start Your Journey Here.   

Part Two - Zoom Intro

Once couples finish their first course together (or separately), they will choose from a list of dates for their Intro to Marriage Formation Zoom meeting. These meetings are 30 minutes and allow us to learn more about you as we accompany you on your journey. Sessions are held about fifteen times per year at various times and accessible only through the portal. The bride and groom are required to attend this online session. About fifteen minutes before your session, you'll see a button appear in your list of courses inviting you to join the call. 

Upcoming Dates:

Tuesday, August 23, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Friday, September 9, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Thursday, January 5, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, February 4, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, April 1, 2023t at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, May 3, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, July 1, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, August 2, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Part Three - Online Content

Completing the Zoom meeting unlocks the rest of your courses. Using LEAD, couples will complete the rest of their online formation. Couples can work through this material at their leisure, but must complete this portion of the program within 90 days of beginning. It is strongly recommended that couples complete this part of formation no less than two months prior to their wedding. We have purposely made the modules short since walking away from each course without finishing may result in lost work.

Part Four - Wrap Up Session

The last course couples will see is another 30 minute live course that will take place with their mentor couple via Zoom. During this session, we will hear from couples what they learned, what they found challenging, and what further instruction they might still need. Completing this call automatically generates your certificate of completion. Just like your intro Zoom call, these links are only available through the portal.

Upcoming Dates:

Wednesday, August 24, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Friday, September 30, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 at 7:00 pm
Thursday, January 26, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, February 25, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, March 29, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, April 29, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, May 31, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, June 27, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Saturday, July 29, 2023 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2023 at 7:00 pm

[On Your Own - Meeting with Clergy]

The final step in marriage formation is the meeting between the couple and the clergyman officiating their wedding. Though couples will likely meet with clergy ahead of enrolling in the diocesan program, we are strongly recommending that an additional meeting take place following the completion of the diocesan formation.

Intro to Marriage Formation

Sign up for one of these introductory sessions to learn more about the program, get a quick tutorial, and discover more about the Sacrament of Matrimony.